A-Cold-Wall, Charles Jeffrey Loverboy and Eckhaus Latta are among the finalists for the fifth annual LVMH Prize


We finally managed to get to know the nine finalists for the 2018 LVMH Prize, an award set up in 2014 that grants a young fashion designer €300,000 and a year of mentorship from executives at the luxury conglomerate.

The finalists, selected from over 1,300 applications and 90 countries, are: A-Cold-Wall by Samuel Ross; Botter by Rushemy Botter and Lisi Herrebrugh; Charles Jeffrey Loverboy by Charles Jeffrey; Doublet by Masayuki Ino; Eckhaus Latta by Zoe Latta and Mike Eckhaus; Kwaidan Editions by Léa Dickely and Hung La; Ludovic de Saint Sernin; Matthew Adams Dolan; and Rokh by Rok Hwang.

“Creative teams feature prominently in the selection,” said Delphine Arnault, executive vice president of LVMH and founder of the prize. “This year saw a real diversity of talent. I wish all the finalists good luck.”

The selection was made by a panel of 48 international fashion experts, including art director Fabien Baron, Vogue China editor Angelica Cheung, Colette founder Sarah Andelman, US Harper’s Bazaar editor-in-chief Glenda Bailey, events producer Alexandre de Betak and consultant Julie Gilhart, who met the 20 shortlisted designers in Paris earlier this month. New experts on this year’s panel include investor Carmen Busquets, fashion muse Lady Amanda Harlech and Dior face Bella Hadid, as well as fashion educators Fabio Piras, Burak Cakmak and Hans de Foer.

Of the nine finalists, six accounted for duos. Five of the designers are based in London, while two are based in the US. Gender fluidity also has a presence, with three of the finalists positioned as gender-neutral. Meanwhile, British label Charles Jeffrey Loverboy is back for a second time, having been shortlisted in 2017.

The winner of the 2018 Prize will be announced on June 6 at the Louis Vuitton Foundation after deliberation by a jury comprised of nine creative directors from LVMH-owned fashion houses including Karl Lagerfeld and Haider Ackermann; as well as Delphine Arnault; Jean-Paul Claverie, advisor to Bernard Arnault and director of corporate sponsorship for LVMH; and Sidney Toledano, chairman and chief executive of the LVMH Fashion Group.

Past winners of the esteemed prize include Marine Serre, Grace Wales Bonner, Marques’ Almeida and Thomas Tait.

See the full list of this year’s finalists below:

A-COLD-WALL — designed by Samuel Ross (British designer based in London). Menswear showing in London.

BOTTER — designed by Rushemy Botter & Lisi Herrebrugh (Dutch designers based in Antwerp). Menswear showing in Paris.

CHARLES JEFFREY LOVERBOY — designed by Charles Jeffrey (British designer based in London). Womenswear and menswear showing in London.

DOUBLET — designed by Masayuki Ino (Japanese designer based in Tokyo). Gender-neutral fashion showing in Tokyo.

ECKHAUS LATTA — designed by Zoe Latta & Mike Eckhaus (American designers based in New York and Los Angeles). Womenswear and menswear showing in New York.

KWAIDAN EDITIONS — designed by Léa Dickely & Hung La (French and American-Vietnamese designers based in London). Womenswear showing in Paris.

LUDOVIC DE SAINT SERNIN — designed by Ludovic de Saint Sernin (French designer based in Paris). Gender-neutral fashion showing in Paris.

MATTHEW ADAMS DOLAN — designed by Matthew Adams Dolan (American designer based in New York). Gender-neutral fashion showing in New York.

ROKH — designed by Rok Hwang (South Korean designer based in London). Womenswear showing in Paris.

If you love fashion and want to know more about your favourite brand, click HERE!